## St. Ansgar, Iowa March 14, 2022

The St. Ansgar Community School District is an Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Educational Agency.

The Board of Directors of the St. Ansgar Community School District met in regular session in the High School Media Center at 5:31 P.M.

Present: Directors Steve Groth, Kyle Tabbert, Tony Brown, Matt Foster, and Lowanna Hannam. Superintendent Mike Crozier. Secretary Emily Johnson-Woods. Principal Josh Culberson. There were no guests.

Absent: Director Morrow and Director Falk.

The meeting was called to order by President Groth. Brown moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Tabbert, to approve the Agenda as presented in packet with the additional board bill report added. Ayes-Tabbert, Brown, Foster, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Communications: None.

Principal Reports: Included in Packet.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the Teacher Retention Payments that Governor Reynolds had proposed.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the Make-Up days/Last Day of School.

Director Groth inquired about how we will be handling the girl's wrestling program. Superintendent Crozier and Athletic Director Culberson are looking into this as there are things to be determined with the program yet.

Hannam moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Foster, to approve the Consent Action Items which included the following:

- Minutes from the February 14, 2022 Regular Meeting, and the February 28, 2022 Board Workshop and Special Meeting Minutes.
- March 2022 Financial Statements.
- March bills, including prepays in the amount of \$165,682.32.
- Payroll in the amount of \$522,811.92 for March.
- Bret William's resignation as Head Boys Basketball Coach.
- Jena Hardy's resignation as MS Special Education Teacher.
- Approve Learning Connection Payments to Sue Loken for \$1,352, Emily Nalan-May for \$470, and Jessica Jeffries for \$47.13.
- Approve the following payments for extra ticket taking: Lorie Hoeft \$20, Deb Zipse \$40, Diane Mayer \$40, and Jessica Jeffries \$50.
- Approve the payments for conference wrestling table workers: Shannon Belz \$40 and Luke Nielsen \$40.
- Approve the payment of \$504 to Diane Mayer for Cheerleading Coach Substitute.
- Approve the payment of \$700 to Craig Christensen for Conference Tournament working, Girl's wrestling tournament coach, and worker help.
- Approve the payment of \$225 to Shannon Belz for girl's wrestling help.
- Approve the payment of \$40 to Deanne Peterson for Conference Wrestling worker help.
- Approve offering Bret Williams the Junior High Assistant Football Coach position, at BA-0 for 4.5% of the BA Level for the 2022-2023 school year.
- Approve the teacher retention payments in the amount of \$1,000 for the eligible teacher's as presented to the board.

Ayes-Brown, Foster, Hannam, Groth, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Brown moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Foster, to approve the German Club fundraiser as presented in the packet. Ayes- Foster, Hannam, Groth, Tabbert, and Brown. Nays-None.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the Transportation Facility. Dean Snyder Construction gave a breakdown of the cost of the project and where the allocation of expenses are and he will send to the board.

Superintendent Crozier and Emily Johnson-Woods presented the Budget Presentation to the board.

Foster moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Brown, to authorize publishing the budget for the 2022-2023 school year in the Enterprise Journal and set a budget hearing for April 11, 2022 at 5:35 P.M. in the MS/HS Media Center at the St. Ansgar Community School District. Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Tabbert, Brown, and Foster. Nays-None.

Brown moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Foster, to approve the Budget Guarantee for Fiscal Year 2023. Ayes- Groth, Tabbert, Brown, Foster, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Foster, to approve the Audit Extension with the State of Iowa for our June 30, 2021 fiscal year audit. Ayes-Tabbert, Brown, Foster, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> Brown, to approve all out of state travel as presented. Ayes-Brown, Foster, Hannam, Groth, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Foster, to approve the second reading of the review of the 100 series. Ayes-Foster, Hannam, Groth, Tabbert, and Brown. Nays-None.

Brown moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Tabbert, to approve the first reading of the review of the 600 series (600-604.11). Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Tabbert, Brown, and Foster. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Foster, to approve the Cooperative Agreement for pre-service Clinical Placement with UNI for the 2022-2023 School Year. Ayes-Groth, Tabbert, Brown, Foster, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Brown moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Hannam, to approve the participation in the AEA Purchasing Agreement. Ayes-Tabbert, Brown, Foster, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> Brown, to approve the purchase of a convection oven Blodget brand Model #ZEPH-100-E DBL from Wilson Restaurant Supply for \$10,850. Ayes- Brown, Foster, Hannam, Groth, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Foster moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Hannam, to approve the open enrollments as presented in the packet. Ayes-Foster, Hannam, Groth, Tabbert, and Brown. Nays-None.

The meeting adjourned at 6:44 P.M.

Attachments to the board minutes may be viewed at the Board Secretary's Office. There may be a charge for any copies that are requested.

Steve Groth, President

Emily Johnson-Woods, Board Secretary